Friday Night Australian Racing 2/5/16

GOOD WEATHER AHEAD!!  I looked at the weather reports for Melbourne and Sydney, and both cities should be dry and the turf should be a “Good 3” (U.S. Firm) at Caulfield and a “Soft 5” (U.S. Good) at Randwick.

Race 3A (Randwick):  RANVET (BM93) ($85K) Friday Feb 5th, Post Time = 9:55pm EST (8:55pm CST 6:55pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super, Pick 3 starts here (3A, 4A, 5A) 3yo+ 5 furlongs. Apprentices can claim.

Picks: 9-1-4

At the very tricky 5 furlong distance it us usually a good idea to stick with the horses with the best career record at 5 furlongs:  #9 Felines (3/1 ML), who appears to be on the improve and gets 16 pounds from the co-favorite #1 Craftiness (3/1 ML).  #4 Got The Boss (9/1 ML) is 3 for 3 at the distance and can add value in the exotics.

 

Race 4A (Randwick):  T’BRED NSW BREEDERS CLASSIC ($175K) Post Time = Feb 5th, 10:30pm EST (9:30pm CST, 7:30pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 4yo+ M OPEN G2, 6 Furlongs

Pick:  #4 only

This is a wacky race, as every horse in here comes from off the pace, but #4 Ive Got The Looks (5/1 ML) is pretty reliable at the 6 furlong distance (16-6-0-1) and Team Snowden can get them ready.

 

Race 5A (Randwick):  INGLIS CLASSIC ($250K) Post Time = Feb 5th, 11:05pm EST (10:05pm CST, 8:05pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 2yo OPEN SW, 6 furlongs

Note:  This race is limited to yearlings that were purchased through the Inglis sales company, based in Sydney.  Picks:  12-2-15

#12 Soviet Secret (11/1 ML) is an obvious threat off its run at Sandown near Melbourne.  This shipper has a nice closing style and wins with slight improvement.  #2 Rafha’s Choice (8/1 ML) is very quick early and will have to be caught.  Drew very well in post 4.  #15 Maddison Avenue (18/1 ML) is working like a runner and appears to be the fastest of several debut runners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.