Friday Night Australian Racing 3/11/2016

Race 1B Australia (Flemington) Friday, March 11, 2016 6 furlongs TBV THOROUGHBRED BREEDERS STKS ($150K) 8:40pm EST (7:40pm CST, 5:40pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 2yo F OPEN G3

#2 Selenia (4/1 ML) is fast and tough and won last week “down the straight” at Flemington.  Coming back on 7 days rest is a very positive sign.

 

Race 2B Australia (Flemington) Friday, March 11, 2016 7 furlongs MSS SECURITY SIRES’ PRODUCE ($200K) 9:15pm EST (8:15pm CST, 6:15pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 2yo OPEN SW G2

#8 Hot Dipped (estimated 4/1 at post) is undefeated and I am sticking with the “Hot” hand.

 

Race 3A Australia (Rosehill) Friday, March 11, 2016 6 furlongs BEDE MURRAY MAGIC NIGHT STAKES ($175K) 9:35pm EST (8:35pm CST, 6:35pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super, Pick 3 (3A, 4A, 5A) 2yo F OPEN SW G2

#2 Calliope (7/2 ML) was a gate scratch after becoming cast in her barrier stall 7 days ago.  I picked her to win last week, so I cam going to stay with her this week.

 

Race 3B Australia (Flemington) Friday, March 11, 2016 5.5 furlongs GOODWOOD RACECOURSE TROPHY ($120K) 9:55pm EST (8:55pm CST, 6:55pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super, Pick 3 (3B, 4B, 5B) 3yo OPEN Listed Race

#4 Stellar Collision (8/1 ML) is on undefeated 3 for 3 roll.  I’m stayin’ with the hot horses today.

 

Race 5A Australia (Rosehill) Friday, March 11, 2016 5.5 furlongs SMOOTH FM MAURICE MCCARTEN ($150K) 10:50pm EST (9:50pm CST, 7:50pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 3yo+ OPEN G3

#2 Craftiness (5/2 ML) drops 13 pounds of a very solid try on February 6th.  Draws better today and sould be ready to a top effort.

 

Race 5B Australia (Flemington) Friday, March 11, 2016 7 furlongs TAB KEWNEY STAKES ($200K) 11:10pm EST (10:10pm CST, 8:10pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super 3yo F OPEN SW G2

#3 Badawiya (6/1 ML) has had a really nice career and her trainer is the best in Melbourne with sprinters.  I expect her to be ready after the layoff.

 

Race 6B Australia (Flemington) Friday, March 11, 2016 6B LEXUS NEWMARKET HCP ($1.3M) 11:50pm EST (10:50pm CST, 8:50pm PST) W, P, S, Ex, Qu, Tri, Super OPEN G1

This race is the second most important sprint race in Australia, which may not initially make an impression until one considers that the fastest grass sprinters in the world are bred in Australia and then race in Australia, Hong Kong and/or Dubai.  Today features the best of the best in #6 Japonime and #1 Chautauqua.

#6 Japonisme (7/2 ML) is a Group 1 winner down the straight against 3 year olds already, and his last race against race favorite #1 Chautauqua was very solid, beaten only a head.  I am optimistic Japonisme can turn the tables today with a 5 pound weight swing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.